EHS Art Teacher, Janice Packard, voted Oregon's Art Educator of the Year

EHS Art Teacher, Janice Packard, voted Oregon's Art Educator of the Year for 2015
EHS/EMS Art Teacher Janice PackardThis is not the first year Ms. Packard was honored with an award for her teaching. She was also awarded Oregon Secondary Art Educator of the Year in 2011.  Where only secondary level teachers can receive the Oregon Secondary Art Educator of the year, the Oregon Art Educator Award is open to all art teachers in Oregon.

Ms. Packard's passion for for her job really shines through in the amazing art that her students produce.  Estacada School District is lucky to have Ms. Packard on staff.

Here is more information about the award and selection process:

These fine professionals were nominated by their colleagues and their nomination materials were rated through a process of blind adjudication according to specific rubrics from the National Art Education Association (continue reading below).  We will honor these seven art educators at our awards breakfast on Saturday, October 10 at Southern Oregon University in Ashland, as part of our annual two-day professional conference.

The Oregon Art Education Association administers a professional awards program to recognize and highlight excellence in the many outstanding individuals, associations, and programs devoted to furthering art education in our state.  Following the standards and procedures set forth by the National Art Education Association, OAEA’s purpose is:

*  to focus professional attention on quality art education and exemplary art educators; 

*  to increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education;

*  to set standards for quality art education and show how they can be achieved; 

*  to provide tangible recognition of achievement, earn respect of colleagues, and enhance professional opportunities for NAEA / OAEA members.

The chairperson for OAEA’s professional awards program is the OAEA Past-President, Christopher Shotola-Hardt (2014 & 2015 cycles).  The chairperson collects the nominations, contacts the nominees and asks them to provide support materials that address the requirements from NAEA.  Shotola-Hardt assembles the awards committee to rate the nomination materials for each candidate according to the rubrics provided by NAEA (; the chairperson is not allowed to nominate or vote. 

Shotola-Hardt supplied the three awards committee members with all of the nominations and supporting information.  Committee members had a rubric sheet from NAEA for each nominee, and all proper nouns (all names, names of schools, districts, towns, etc.) were removed for this blind adjudication.  Awards committee members did not communicate with one another, and likely didn't know who the other jurors were – Shotola-Hardt asked art educators from different regions of the state to serve on this committee.  They rated each candidate according to the rubric, tallied their ratings, and submitted them to the awards chair.